Information for parents and safeguarding advice
Kelvin and Liz Fletcher to help judge national YFC awards

Kelvin and Liz Fletcher to help judge national YFC awards

Kelvin and Liz Fletcher, stars of the ITV programme Fletchers on the Farm, are set to help choose rural young individuals for an award at The National Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs' (NFYFC) YFC Achiever Awards.

The YFC Achiever Awards are now in their fifth year and are aimed at rewarding members and supporters of Young Farmers’ Clubs (YFCs) for the work they do in the community, for enterprising initiatives and for helping to develop other rural young people.

A national awards ceremony will be held in Birmingham at the National Conference Centre on 2 November 2024.

Kelvin and Liz will help to decide who should be named the Young Farmer of the Year, an award supported by The Farm Safety Foundation (Yellow Wellies).

The category aims to highlight best practice in the sector and celebrate YFC members who are actively promoting and farming safely.

Kelvin Fletcher said:

“We're honoured to be part of such an inspiring celebration of young talent in agriculture.

"Liz and I are thrilled to join the National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs awards as judges, and we look forward to witnessing the dedication and innovation of the next generation of farmers.”

The Fletchers are among the top names from the farming industry who will help to choose the 2024 winners.

Judges include best-selling author and award-winning entrepreneur Hannah Russell (@hannahrusselloutdoors), farmer and agricultural influencer Ioan Humphreys (@that_welsh_farmer), farmer, YouTuber and TikToker Joe Seels (@joeseels), farmer and co-founder of Agrespect Ben Andrews (Farmer Ben @bentheoandrews) and vet turned farmer Holly Atkinson (@cups.on.cows)

Ben Andrews

Ben Andrews, who is one of the founding members of Agrespect – a rural LGBTQ+ network – will help to judge the Club of the Year, which is supported by CFMOTO. This year clubs will need to demonstrate how they are inclusive, as well as showing their strengths in club programming and safeguarding.

Ben said:

“I’m looking forward to seeing nominations from clubs who are championing the ‘YFC is for Everyone’ message and offering a wide range of activities that are accessible to all.

"It’s impressive how much work YFC members do to run their own small charities and these awards are a great way to recognise those achievements.”

With NFYFC membership at its highest since 2019, there will be plenty of new members to be celebrated in the New Member of the Year category. The award recognises those who are making an early impact on their club.

Hannah Russell

Author Hannah Russell is looking forward to reviewing the nominations. She said:

“I'm delighted to be supporting the New Member of the Year category. It's great to see so many young people in agriculture making an impact and setting foundations for the future generation.”

Enterprising young people will also be recognised in the Entrepreneur of the Year category, supported by KUHN. The judges will be looking for rural and farming initiatives that have been launched during the pandemic.

YFC members will also be rewarded for the leadership they show in their clubs and counties. Savills is supporting the Aspiring Rural Leader category and hopes to find examples of young rural people who are making their mark.

There is also an award where the winner is determined by the YFC membership in an online vote. The Heart of YFC award is presented to the person that YFC members believe represents the true spirit of YFC.

NFYFC’s new President John Lee OBE DL is among the judging panel who will shortlist five of the nominees for the Heart of YFC Award for the wider membership to vote on.

John Lee OBE DL said:

“The YFC Achiever Awards had a record number of entries last year and we’re excited to see the nominations for this year.

“These awards celebrate the very best in our organisation and champion what can be achieved by being part of YFC. You learn skills for life in YFC and it’s only right that we recognise our members and the outstanding contribution they make to supporting their communities, their clubs and the industry.

“If you know someone who deserves to be rewarded, please nominate them before the deadline.”

The award categories are:

  • Entrepreneur of the Year, supported by KUHN
  • Farm Safety Award, sponsored by The Farm Safety Foundation (Yellow Wellies)
  • Aspiring Rural Leader of the year, sponsored by Savills
  • Club of the Year, sponsored by CFMOTO
  • YFC Supporter of the Year, sponsored by Isuzu
  • New Member of the Year
  • Community Spirit award
  • The Heart of YFC Award

Nominations can be made online here and entries must be submitted before the deadline of 9 June 2024.